If you want to be up to speed on all the happenings and the calendar of events, look no further than Dutchess County Tourism!
Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library and Museum
4079 Albany Post Rd, Hyde Park, NY 12538
When he planned his presidential library, FDR took care to include space for a museum to display his many personal treasures. An avid collector, the President had spent a lifetime gathering extensive collections ranging from stamps, coins, and rare books to Hudson River Valley art, naval prints, and ship models.
When the FDR Museum opened on June 30, 1941, it featured elaborate displays of these collections and the many gifts the Roosevelts had received from governments and individuals.
When the permanent galleries reopen on June 30, 2013, there will be extensive galleries where visitors can experience the lives of Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt and the dramatic events of the Great Depression and World War II.
Franklin D Roosevelt Home
4097 Albany Post Road (Route 9), Hyde Park, NY 12538
This was the lifelong home of Franklin Delano Roosevelt, America’s 32nd President. When it was purchased by Roosevelt’s father in 1867, the home was a large but simple Italianate farmhouse. By 1915, Franklin and his mother, Sara, had completed extensive renovations that included the stucco and fieldstone exterior, the addition of two large wings, and a columned portico.
Interior decorations reflect the lifestyle favored by this “old money” family. Inherited by FDR upon his mother’s death in 1941, the house and much of the estate were transferred to the federal government in 1945 (as the President had requested).
Its interior remains as it was during Roosevelt’s lifetime: a boyhood collection of stuffed birds graces the entrance hall, photos of various heads of state decorate the piano, and the bed the president was born in occupies an upstairs chamber.
The grounds feature flower gardens, outbuildings, and miles of walking trails. The Rose Garden contains the graves of Franklin and Eleanor Roosevelt. The National Park Service recommends you plan a minimum of two and one half hours to visit.
Eleanor Roosevelt National Historic Site (Val-Kill)
The address for GPS is 54 Valkill Park Road, Hyde Park, NY 12538
“The greatest thing I have learned is how good it is to come home again.” Eleanor Roosevelt
This simple statement expresses her love for the modest house she called Val-Kill. The only National Historic Site dedicated to a first lady, Val-Kill welcomes you as Mrs. Roosevelt welcomed her many guests. Visitors may tour Mrs. Roosevelt’s Val-Kill Cottage and enjoy the lovely gardens and grounds on the site. Be sure to see the introductory film, “Close to Home,” and the permanent exhibit, “Eleanor Roosevelt and Val-Kill: Emergence of a Political Leader”. This is a 90 minute experience.
Vanderbilt Mansion National Historic Site
Route 9 in Hyde Park, NY
The address for GPS is 119 Vanderbilt Park Road, Hyde Park
The Vanderbilt Mansion National Historic Site was established as a monument to an era rather than a tribute to any one person or family. The estate illustrates a way of life modeled on the English country house and is only unusual today because so few examples survive in the 21st century.The park offers a window into the philosophy of the American country house, the lives of its domestic staff, and its relationship to the surrounding community. In addition to a tour of the house, you should stroll on the 211 acres of park land that boast centuries old tree plantings, stunning Hudson River and Catskill Mountain views and Italian Gardens maintained by the volunteers of the Frederick William Vanderbilt Garden Association. This is a two hour experience.
Olana State Historic Site – Frederick Church’s Masterpiece
5720 State Route 9G, Hudson, New York 12534
Olana State Historic Site, the home and studio of eminent Hudson River School painter Frederic Edwin Church, is a historic site administered by the New York State Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation, Taconic Region. It is a designated National Historic Landmark and one of the most visited sites in the state. Tours of the main house at Olana are very popular, so reservations are highly recommended
Kykuit: The Rockefeller Estate
All Kykuit tours originate from the Visitor Center at Philipsburg Manor, located on Route 9 in the village of Sleepy Hollow
381 N Broadway, Sleepy Hollow, NY
Kykuit is a preeminent Hudson Valley landmark. For architecture, remarkable gardens, art, history, and spectacular scenery, a trip to Kykuit is simply amazing.
Old Dutch Church and Burying Grounds
430 North Broadway, Sleepy Hollow, NY 10591
Founded around 1685, this is the church and churchyard that appear in Washington Irving’s short story “The Legend of Sleepy Hollow.” It is often confused with the adjacent but separate Sleepy Hollow Cemetery.
The church’s 3-acre burying ground is, of course, the purported haunt of the headless horseman, and also the resting place of local citizens who likely inspired Irving’s characters of Katrina Van Tassel, Brom Bones, and others in “The Legend of Sleepy Hollow.”
Founded in 1849, the cemetery is non-profit and non-sectarian. There are nearly 45,000 interments in its 90 acres. Famous burials include Washington Irving, Andrew Carnegie, Walter Chrysler, Samuel Gompers, Elizabeth Arden, Leona Helmsley, Brooke Astor, and William Rockefeller. Walk or drive the grounds on your own or try an afternoon or evening guided tour.
Historic Huguenot Street
88 Huguenot Street, New Paltz, NY 12561
In 1678, a group of Huguenot families established a community in the Hudson Valley of New York in the hope of creating a home where they could worship as they chose. In 1894, their descendants formed what is now Historic Huguenot Street to protect their legacy in the buildings, objects, and stories they left behind. See Huguenot Street come alive with fresh interpretations of the historic houses, new tours across the settlement, and a diverse range of special programs.
Madam Brett Homestead
50 Van Nydeck Avenue, Beacon, NY 12508-3326
In 1709, Roger and Catheryna Brett, with their children and slaves, emigrated from New York to Dutchess County and hired a Long Island architect to build this Dutch-style house. Over the next seven generations, until 1954, the home remained in the family.
Today, the Madam Brett Homestead is the oldest house in Dutchess County and is maintained by the Daughters of the American Revolution. Architectural features include original scalloped shingles, Dutch doors, and sloping dormers. The home’s interior is decorated with original Georgian, Empire, and Victorian furniture; a collection of 18th-century Chinese porcelain; silver tea sets; displays of early doll collections, textiles, and tools; a copy of Houdon’s bust of Robert Fulton; a punch bowl presented by Lafayette; plus items belonging to Catheryna Brett.
NATURE AND OUTDOOR EXPERIENCES
Old Rhinebeck Aerodrome
9 Norton Rd., Red Hook, NY 12571
The Old Rhinebeck Aerodrome is a true “living” museum of antique aviation located in the historic town of Rhinebeck, New York. We present one of the largest collections of early aeroplanes in the world, as well as automobiles, motorcycles, early engines and memorabilia spanning the period from 1900-1939.
During our exciting weekend air shows, the Aerodrome turns back the hands of time and relives the early years of aviation (weather permitting). This colorful era is brought back to life amidst the roar of rotary engines and is great entertainment for all ages. The Saturday shows chronicle the history of flight with pioneer, World War I and Lindbergh era aircraft taking to the skies. If the winds are calm you will even see our 1909 Bleriot (the oldest flying aircraft in the United States) take to the air. The Sunday shows feature a World War I dogfight as well as barnstorming aircraft.
In addition to weekend aerial demonstrations, the Aerodrome also offers four museum buildings housing static displays of aircraft from the pioneer, World War I and Lindbergh/barnstorming eras which are open to the public seven days a week from June to October.
Walkway Over the Hudson
82 Washington Street, Poughkeepsie, NY 12601
Walkway Over the Hudson State Historic Park is a linear walkway spanning the Hudson River. At 212 feet tall and 1.28 miles long, it is the longest, elevated pedestrian bridge in the world. Walkway State Park is open year-round, weather conditions permitting (closed in the event of lightning or ice).
3197 US-44, Gardiner, NY 12525
New York’s largest nonprofit nature preserve, Mohonk Preserve has 8,500 acres of mountain ridges, forests, fields, streams, ponds, and other unique and beautiful places. Enjoy scenic beauty, outdoor activities, and peace and quiet, all just 90 miles from New York City. Our carriage roads and trails are perfect for hiking, running, mountain biking, horseback riding, and cross-country skiing. We’re also the home of “Gunks” climbing and bouldering, and one of the most visited climbing destinations in North America.
362 Tyrrel Road, Millbrook, New York 12545
Recognized as one of the “world’s ten best gardens,”* Innisfree is a powerful icon of mid-twentieth century design. Over fifty years in the making, it is the work of landscape architect Lester Collins, FASLA (1914 – 1993), with important contributions by his clients, artist and teacher Walter Beck and gardener and heiress Marion Burt Beck. Innisfree merges the essence of Modernist ideas with traditional Chinese and Japanese garden design principles in a form that evolved through subtle handling of the landscape and slow manipulation of its ecology. The result is a distinctly American stroll garden — a sublime composition of rock, water, wood, and sky achieved with remarkable economy and grace.
3 Beekman Street, Beacon, New York
Dia:Beacon presents Dia Art Foundation’s collection from the 1960s to the present as well as special exhibitions, new commissions, and public and education programs.
Frances Lehman Loeb Art Center at Vassar
124 Raymond Ave Box 703, Poughkeepsie, NY 12604
Vassar College has been collecting works of art for over one hundred and fifty years, formerly as the Vassar College Art Gallery and since 1993 as the Frances Lehman Loeb Art Center. The founding collection numbered over 3,000 paintings (mostly American) and works on paper (mostly European). It has since grown to over 19,000 works of art spanning all chronological periods and many cultures.
Storm King Art Center
1 Museum Rd, New Windsor, NY 12553
Storm King is one of the world’s leading sculpture parks, encompassing over 500 acres of rolling hills, verdant fields, and woodlands. These provide space for a collection of more than 100 large-scale sculptures by some of the most acclaimed artists of our time, including Alexander Calder, Mark di Suvero, Andy Goldsworthy, Zhang Huan, Maya Lin, Louise Nevelson, Isamu Noguchi, Claes Oldenburg, Richard Serra, David Smith, and Ursula von Rydingsvard among others.
WALKING, HIKING AND BIKING
Dutchess Rail Trail
The William R. Steinhaus Dutchess Rail Trail (WRS DRT) is our 13.4 mile multi-use linear county “park” that runs through the middle of the County along the former Maybrook Rail corridor including the towns of Poughkeepsie, LaGrange, Wappinger and East Fishkill, with a direct link to the Walkway Over the Hudson and the regional trail network.
The WRS DRT has being earning accolades since its first section opened in 2008, and it was named “Best Hiking Trail in the Hudson Valley” by Hudson Valley magazine in 2015.
Hudson Valley Rail Trail
Hike it or bike it. Ride on horseback or roller blades. Ski it cross-country style or on snow shoes. The Hudson Valley Rail Trail is on an abandoned part of the New York, New Haven & Hartford Line that went to Ulster County for back taxes. Walkway Over the Hudson is the start of a passage of varied terrain and experiences that you will not soon forget.
Quiet Cove Trails
Clear Water Drive
Quiet Cove Riverfront Park is a 27-acre park (with 5 plus acres to the West of the rail line) on the banks of the Hudson River. Quiet Cove offers picnic tables, grills, fishing, walking trails and scenic overlooks on the upper section of the park and breathtaking views of the Hudson River.